Fun Fun Fun FestOnly a few more days until this year’s FunFunFun Fest with a line-up that many are calling better than ACL Festival.  They may not have as big of names as Stevie Wonder and Arcade Fire, but their lesser-known bands are worth the money.

Headlining this weekend is Spoon, Passion Pit, Slayer, Public Enemy and many others.  Spoon is a great band and just as wonderful live as they are on their albums.  Slayer and Public Enemy I can’t speak for personally (not really my thing), but I know many people who love them both.  Passion Pit, however, I can speak for first hand and I’m not saying good things.  They played ACL Festival in 2009 and it wasn’t pretty; I’ve heard similar things about other shows of theirs.  So go ahead and take your bathroom break Friday around 8:30.

The line-up also includes some comedians (the one thing most music festivals are missing) such as Brian Posehn, Reggie Watts, and Henry Rollins.

The Joy Formidable

The Joy Formidable

I don’t know everyone on the line-up, but here are my suggestions for the ones I know won’t disappoint: M83 (who I just mentioned in yesterday’s post), The Joy Formidable (obsessed with their new song “Whirring”), Ra Ra Riot, Mates of State, ,Blonde Redhead, Black Joe Lewis and the Honey Bears, and Black Lips.

Leave a Reply

